Resume Analysis

As I’ve written my resume, I’ve learned that above all else, your resume must look professional. To achieve this, the first thing you need is a good structure to your resume that emphasizes your strengths. If you have skills but not experience, you focus on skills. If you have experience, clearly, emphasizing skills may not be necessary, as your experience will speak for itself. And in any case, whatever you most want to be seen should be at the forefront. Second is that a good resume may, depending on the field you’re applying for, need to stand out graphically. In my field as a Graphic Designer in particular, it is necessary that my resume itself be a reflection of some of my skills. Third, though it may seem like a minor thing, the grammar and spelling on a resume must be immaculate. Some errors are honest mistakes, but there are no “honest mistakes” on a resume. To have errors on your resume is to say that, all skills or experience aside, you may be incompetent (in spelling at least).

When I was analyzing the four resumes in class, I found myself being quick to note any flaws I might find first among the candidates so I could move on the the next candidate, later discovering that some of the ones I skipped over so easily were better qualified than my glance over their resumes suggested. This also applied to the way I honed in on qualities I perceived to be good. This is not a good practice, and given more time to look them over, and if I actually needed to have one of them come in, I would’ve weighed their strengths and weaknesses more fairly and accurately. Noting how time-consuming looking over those resumes was, I would reiterate how important it is to make a resume that is brief, to-the-point, and structured in a way that highlights your strengths.

With regards to an objective statement, I think that in most cases it’s unnecessary, unless you make it more personal. Hernandez(2013) says, “The problem with statements like these (even for entry-level job seekers) is that they’re generic, vague, overused, and they talk about what you want—not what you’re capable of offering the employer.” I think including personal information is a double-edged sword, though you can blunt the edge pointed at you just by using a modicum of common sense in what you include. To reference the last week’s class, saying you like to gamble is probably going to be bad more often than not.

Hernandez, J. (2013). Why Your Resume Should Never Have an Objective Statement.
http://www.biospace.com/News/why-your-resume-should-never-have-an-objective/286632

Quality Life Resources. (2013). Retrieved from http://www.qualityliferesources.com/resume-examples/

Leave a Reply

